River Ambler by Laura Hymers

When I stand on Battersea Bridge with you,
I wonder why I ever went out
Stomping the pavements of Europe
With my limp torn Baedeker
Fraying in the heat.
 
Why did I crave to see first-hand
The stories I gorged on in winters,
When our bones contain all the world?
And you alone,
In your ambling way,
Can knit us into being?

###

One thought on “River Ambler by Laura Hymers

  1. Pingback: The Greenwich Village Literary Review, Spring 2014 Vol. I, No. 1 | The Greenwich Village Literary Review

Leave a Reply

