Seagull by Emily Duncan

Suddenly words feel

weakened;

smallness uninhibited,

grasping talons

gasp for air.

 

These

are not

the hands,

I

Am not

your lover and I feel

Wild and damp;

 

You are yellow and cold water, 

Iron, lace,

a weed;

hearts

shrinking

with the tide.

 

Your wings a curse,

My words the worse for wear,

Like a cheap

grey

sweater.

 

I am the cat

on your lungs

and you’re coughing;

I am dill weed and dandelions,

mistakes and mythological

wild thing,

jabberwocky,

a falling oyster

breaking on the rocks.

The clack

of blood, harsh whispers

of memory,

A beer on the first day of snow,

Skin, bones and feathers,

You made me a

fighter pilot.

###

One thought on “Seagull by Emily Duncan

  1. Pingback: The Greenwich Village Literary Review, Spring 2014 Vol. I, No. 1 | The Greenwich Village Literary Review

Leave a Reply

